One of the great things about maintaining this site via wordpress is the fact that I can easily track how visitors have found this site. Usually, the journey is pretty self-explanatory: keyword searches that dovetail with things I’ve written about or referrals from websites that deal with similar subject matter as this one. However, every once in a while you get a referral from a website that just seems to not make any sense and you don’t know why.
This morning, I found just such a case. Evidently, someone found my work from a link at showbizdata.com.
Showbizdata? That’s got me curious. So I clicked back to see if I might find out what the context of the link was; all I could find was a bunch of entertainment industry news plus entertainment industry gossip stuff. If there’s some hidden spot where I might possibly unearth the link they have to this site, maybe it’s a special thing one gets by signing up and getting a password on the site. Alas, I’m not that interested in doing that at this point.
I’d both love to speculate as to why the link, but another part of me doesn’t want to go there. So instead, I’ll simply throw out the question to folks who maintain sites that focus on things similar to mine–conspiracies, spirituality, mysticism, etc. There are quite a few of you out there, so here it goes. Have any of you gotten a referral from this showbiz site or a someplace similar?
Got any ideas?
Yeah, it’s a “spam blog” — they just “srape” content from other websites and use it to get high google rankings, ideally in order to get clicks for ads. They are often truly bizarre mixes of material and links, and it’s fun to look for patterns in the random noise. Just the same, though….random noise.
Well, that’s good to know. Thanks for the info, 37.